About this Subject Guide
Audience: Any Somerset badge holder or patient care provider may use this guide to locate books, journals, and websites on health care for LGBTQIA patients.
Content: This subject guide is not comprehensive. This information has been compiled from Somerset Medical Library's Books and Journals, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital Somerset's website, and the National Institute of Health's biomedical database, PubMed.
If you have any questions, please contact the Medical Library.
Books
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by
From a renowned specialist at the Cleveland Clinic and medical and surgical experts in this growing field comes an up-to-date, multidisciplinary resource on transgender health care and surgery. Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient, by Dr. Cecile Ferrando, covers all aspects of transgender health care, beginning with epidemiology and history and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options. Incorporates all of the latest guidelines for providers and patients, written by experts from a wide variety of disciplines involved in transgender patient care. Contains outstanding surgical chapters contributed by prominent surgeons who regularly perform these procedures, providing clear guidance on male-to-female and female-to-male surgical options. Features high-quality, full-color illustrations throughout. Covers key topics in every area of transgender health care, including Mental Health Care for the Adult and for the Child and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Hormone Treatment for the Adult and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Facial Surgery for Transgender Patients; Breast and Genital Surgeries for Transgender Patients; and Primary, Preventive, and Gynecologic Care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323496421Publication Date: 2019-03-25
Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine by
Awarded with the 2018 Prose Award in Clinical Medicine, the third edition of Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine explored and described exciting new areas in biomedicine that integrated technology into the treatment of disease and the augmentation of human function. Novel topics such as the sex-specific aspects of space medicine, the development and the use of genderized robots and a discussion of cyborgs were included in the third edition, providing a preview of the expanding world of sex-specific physiology and therapeutics. This Fourth Edition is a continuation of the mission to trace the relevance of biological sex to normal function and to the experience of disease in humans. We are now twenty years into the postgenomic era. The investigation of how the genome produces the phenome has led to fascinating insights as well as yet unanswered questions. Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine, Fourth Edition, has a central theme: discuss advances in understanding the role of epigenetics in regulating gene expression in a dynamic, sex-specific way during human life. It explores the protean role of epigenetics in human physiology, the relevance of environmental experience to human function, the therapeutic promise of cutting-edge methodologies like gene manipulation, the preparation of humans for space travel, the use of artificial intelligence in detection and therapeutic decisions concerning disease states, the possibilities for technological support of not only compromised individuals but of the augmentation of human function, and an analysis of the benefits, limitations and issues that surround our current expectations of personalized medicine.
ISBN: 9780323885348Publication Date: 2023-04-05
Surgical Management of the Transgender Patient by
Comprehensive and current, the new Surgical Management of the Transgender Patient provides coverage of the preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care of transgender individuals. It takes a step-by-step approach to both transmale and transfemale procedures, and presents detailed descriptions of the techniques and procedures employed by today's surgeons. Featuring full-color illustrations and photos throughout, it's a must-have resource for individuals and programs with an interest in gender confirmation surgery. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Takes a systematic approach to the surgical management of transgender individuals, describing preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Features atlas-style surgical chapters. Guides the user step-by-step through both transmale and transfemale procedures. Provides coverage of hot topics in surgery, including metoidioplasty, chest surgery, and phalloplasty. Full-color design with illustrations and photos enhances your visual understanding.
ISBN: 9780323480895Publication Date: 2016-09-26
The Transgender Athlete by
The Transgender Athlete: A Guide for Sports Medicine Providers presents sports medicine practitioners insights into the unique issues and concerns of transgender athletes in order to help them understand rules regarding transgender athlete participation and learn how to better provide competent care to transgender athletes. There are over 1.4 million transgender adults in the United States. Transgender individuals undergo gender-affirming treatments including sex hormone therapy and gender-affirming surgery. An increasing number of transgender people are participating in sports and presenting to sports medicine clinics with injuries, yet there is little research about this athlete population. It is important that sports medicine providers understand the types of hormone treatments and surgeries and how these changes affect the musculoskeletal health of transgender people. Additionally, transgender people may require specific considerations when interacting with medical providers. Furthermore, sports medicine providers are often consulted to formulate transgender athlete inclusion policy. These policies are continuously changing, as new evidence becomes available, which may be difficult to understand without knowledge of the gender transition process.
ISBN: 9780323916196Publication Date: 2023-08-18- Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide by The first case-based comprehensive textbook to address the unique health care needs of transgender and gender diverse adults A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Demand for state-of-the-art health care services for transgender and gender diverse communities is rapidly increasing. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide offers a roadmap for clinicians to provide culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adult patients. With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides guidance on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, this invaluable resource offers a foundation for clinicians when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide features essential information that includes the following topics and more: The history and epidemiology of transgender and gender diverse health care Primary, preventive, and specialty care considerations for transgender and gender diverse patients Hormonal, surgical and non-medical gender affirmation Trauma-informed and gender-affirming care Behavior health, eating disorders and body positivity Reproductive health, obstetrical care, and family building Treatment of HIV and sexually transmitted infections Community building, advocacy and partnershipISBN: 9781260459937Publication Date: 2021-10-08
908-685-2423 
rwjsomlib@rwjbh.org